Skip to main content
Start main content
Quality Assurance

Introduction of Concentrations

Undergraduate (Ug) programme


Concentration of an Ug programme refers to a specific area of specialisation offered within a student’s Major study.  It requires 21 to 45 units to constitute a Concentration under the 4-year Ug curriculum.  To introduce a Concentration, the Programme Planning Team (PPT) is required to submit a proposal, duly endorsed by the Faculty/School Board, to the Senate via Quality Assurance Committee (QAC) for consideration and approval.



Taught Postgraduate (TPg) programme


As regards a Concentration for a TPg programme, it comprises at least one 3-unit common core course which is shared by all Concentrations and at least three 3-unit Concentration courses (or at least 9 units for programmes offering non-3-unit Concentration courses).  For introducing a TPg Concentration, the same approval process should be followed except that the proposal should also be endorsed by the Taught Postgraduate Studies Committee (TPSC) prior to submission to the QAC and the Senate.